David Copperfield
David Copperfield - Charles Dickens
The personal history, adventures, experiences, and observations of David Copperfield, or David Copperfield, Jr., first published in 1850. Like his five works, it first appeared as a serial. Many elements of the novel are drawn from Dickens' life, making it perhaps the most autobiographical of all...
Running Time: 35:41:10
Christmas Stories From 'Household Words' And 'All The Year Round'
Christmas Stories From 'Household Words' And 'All The Year Round' - Charles Dickens
Twenty stories were originally published in Household and All Year magazine's Christmas editions. Some reports have little to no holiday cheer, instead showing Dickens' anger at his day's social and economic injustice. Some stories are written in collaboration with other authors. The book's editors...
Christmas Books
Christmas Books - Charles Dickens
From 1843 to 1848, Charles Dickens wrote five short stories to be published on Christmas Day. Most people are familiar with the first "A Christmas Carol." The others are "The Bell," "The Cricket on the Fireside," "The Battle of Life," and "The Haunted...
Running Time: 15:22:51
Bleak House (version 4)
Bleak House (version 4) - Charles Dickens
Bleak House is one of Dickens' most significant achievements. It was written for a sequel in 1853 when Dickens was at the height of his career. Monthly sales greatly surpassed his previous bestseller, David Copperfield. Dickens' mastery of the English language stands out in this book. This dynamic...
Running Time: 34:04:35
Bleak House
Bleak House - Charles Dickens
Bleak House is Charles Dickens' ninth novel, published in 20 monthly issues between March 1852 and September 1853. It is regarded as one of Dickens' finest and most complete novels, containing one of the broadest, most complex, and most fascinating collections of secondary characters and subplots...
Running Time: 43:30:19
Bleak House (version 3)
Bleak House (version 3) - Charles Dickens
The Chancery Court has jurisdiction over all matters of equity, including the administration of estates, guardianship of orphans, and payment of disputed property. In Dickens' day, some cases could take years to close, changing the lives of those involved. Esther Summerson, a young woman raised in...
Running Time: 39:24:50
American Notes (Version 2)
American Notes (Version 2) - Charles Dickens
Charles Dickens records his impressions of America during his 1842 journey....
Running Time: 09:55:17
A Tale of Two Cities (version 4)
A Tale of Two Cities (version 4) - Charles Dickens
A few people get caught up in the turbulent events of the French Revolution. - Summary by Brad Filippone SECTION CHAPTER READER TIME 01 1-1 The Period Hamlet 00:06:39 02 1-2 The Mail Hamlet 00:11:57 03 1-3 The Night Shadows Hamlet 00:10:35 04 1-4 The Preparation Hamlet 00:24:26 05 1-5 The Wine-Shop...
Running Time: 13:28:21
A Tale of Two Cities
A Tale of Two Cities - Charles Dickens
A Tale of Two Cities (1859) is a historical novel by Charles Dickens; it is also a morality novel, dealing with themes of guilt, shame, redemption, and patriotism. The plot focuses on the years before the French Revolution and culminates in Jacobin's Reign of Terror. It tells the story of two men,...
Running Time: 14:59:35
A Tale of Two Cities (Version 5)
A Tale of Two Cities (Version 5) - Charles Dickens
Charles Dickens's A Tale of Two Cities is a novel that examines the 18th-century French Revolution through the lens of 19th-century Victorian romance. Dickens tells the story of characters in London and Paris whose lives intertwine in the turmoil of the Revolution. Unusually among his novels, A...
Running Time: 15:27:39
1 2